The Indian Government introduced the Tourist Visa On Arrival ( T-VoA ) in 2010 in a bid to increase the declining numbers of foreign tourists visiting India.

The Tourist Visa On Arrival scheme was initially introduced to the nationals of: Japan, Singapore, Finland, Luxembourg and New Zealand, allowing them to obtain their visas on arrival at specific Indian International airports.

In Janurary 2011 the TVoA was extended to Cambodia, Laos, Vietnam and the Philippines and recently this year Germany, France, Spain, Russia and Poland were admitted to the select list of countries, leaving the UK questioning why not us?

A recent High level meeting between India’s Home Ministry, Foreign Ministry, Tourism Ministry, Planning Commission and the National Security Advisor has revealed that the Indian government intends to enter a further 40 countries on to the T-VoA scheme. Details of which countries are yet to be disclosed, however, the UK is thought to be included.